Thank you.

We appreciate your trust and referrals to our practice. We are fully committed to deliver quality care to your patient.

Refer a Patient

Asheville Neurology currently has three board certified neurologists.

  • James Patton, MD: (Fellowship in Electromyography, Movement Disorders and Neuromuscular Disorders)
  • Matthew Engelbrecht, MD: (Fellowship in Head and Facial Pain)
  • Robert Armstrong, MD, President: (Fellowship in Epilepsy and Electroencephalography)

We also have three Certified Physician Assistants, Rebecca and Payal, and Allyssa, who  work directly with our neurologists to provide our patients with timely and efficient care.

Our scope of practice includes but is not limited to the following indications/dx:

  •  Seizures/Epilepsy
  • Headaches/Migraines
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Tremor
  • Other Movement Disorders
  • Stroke/TIA
  • MS
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Abnormal MRI (please include MRI with referral)
  • Spasticity
  • Muscle weakness
  • Memory Impairment
  • Paresthesia (not pain-related)
  • Neuropathy (not pain related)
  • Abnormal Gait
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Ataxia

ANS Referral Form

ANS-Referral-Form (PDF)

ANS-Referral-Form (WORD)

Please fax all patient referrals to 828-210-9319 and be sure to include recent labs, imaging, previous neurology records, insurance info and demographics. For questions about our referral process call (828) 210-9300 Opt. 1.

Potential Patients:

Please note that we require a referral from a physician in order to become a patient at our practice.

Please have your physician complete the above Referral Form in order to request an appointment. With all referrals, we need relevant information such as previous neurological records, labs, recent imaging, demographics and insurance information. We also need a descriptive office note describing exactly why the patient needs to see a neurologist. This helps us to not repeat testing/evaluation that has already been completed by other physicians. It also helps us to make sure that we have the necessary experience and resources to treat the diagnosis that you are being referred for.



Due to the COVID-19 situation, we are experiencing a longer than usual waiting period for new patients to be seen in our office. Please contact us at (828) 210-9300 and select option 1 to inquire about our current wait times for new patients.